Storage Lot - Consent Storage Lot Operator

Auto Dealers Detail - HPDADD1004
Contact
Houston Police Department
Auto Dealers Detail

Physical Address:
1002 Washington Ave., Basement
Houston, TX 77002

Mailing Address:
PO Box 3408
Houston, TX 77253-3408

832.394.4800
832.394.4801
8 am to 4 pm
Plan Review
Not Required
Inspection
Not Required
Renewal
Required
Fee
$353.55
Renewal fee
$332.12
Valid Period
1 year
Processing Time
2 weeks

About

The public business of storing motor vehicles, including wrecked, damaged, or repossessed motor vehicles. This term shall not include those who store new or used motor vehicles pending the retail sales thereof, nor those who own or operate lots or garages for the hourly or daily parking of motor vehicles.

The term also shall not include any facility that is required to be licensed pursuant to the Vehicle Storage Facility Act (Chapter 2303 of the Texas Occupations Code) unless the facility, in addition to keeping vehicles parked or stored without the owners' consent as authorized by a license granted thereunder, keeps vehicles parked or stored with the owners' consent.

After Approval

Permit must be kept on premises.

An annual, non-scheduled, unannounced inspection can be conducted at anytime to ensure compliance.

Renewal invoices are sent 30 to 45 days prior to expiration date.

Conditions & Exceptions

If the license is not renewed within 30 days after expiration, the applicant will have to re-apply and pay initial fee cost.

What You Need
  • Business license application
  • Criminal background check - conducted on the owner if a sole proprietorship or on an authorized person if a corporation or a general partnership. The background check is conducted at an IdentoGo site. 
  • Deed Restriction Compliance Affidavit
  • Copy of Certificate of Occupancy or Life Safety Inspection for your building
  • If applicant is a corporation:
    • Copy of Articles of Incorporation
    • Copy of Letter of Good Standing from the Texas Secretary of State
  • Copy of Assumed Name Certificate, if applicable
  • Copy of lease agreement for property, if applicable
  • Inspection needed.
  • Method of payment: business check, cashier's check, and money order. Cash and credit/debit cards are accepted in person only.

Apply in Person
  1. Call the Auto Dealers Detail at 832.394.4800 within 48 to 72 hours after completing the background check to ensure the criminal history has been obtained.
  2. Bring the completed application, supporting documents and payment to the Houston Permitting Center.
  3. Obtain a numbered ticket from the Information Desk and make your way to the basement.
  4. Scan your ticket at the reception desk to activate your place in line. Please wait in the lobby until your number is called.
  5. Pay the license fee at the Cashier's station located on the first floor, and bring the receipt back down to Auto Dealers station in the basement.
  6. The City of Houston Automotive Board reviews the application for each new business including consideration of the findings of a criminal background check. Notice of an Automotive Board public hearing on the business application is published.
  7. Approval or denial is decided by the Board at the hearing.
    • If denied, applicant will be notified by letter.
    • If approved, license is processed and may be obtained in person at the hearing or mailed to address on file.
Apply by Mail
  1. Call the Auto Dealers Detail at 832.394.4800 within 48 to 72 hours after completing the background check to ensure the criminal history has been obtained.
  2. Mail the completed application, required documents and payment (checks payable to the City of Houston) to:
    Houston Police Department
    Auto Dealers Detail
    PO Box 3408
    Houston, TX 77253-3408
  3. The City of Houston Automotive Board reviews the application for each new business including consideration of the findings of a criminal background check. Notice of an Automotive Board public hearing on the business application is published.
  4. Approval or denial is decided by the Board at the hearing.
    • If denied, applicant will be notified by letter.
    • If approved, license is processed and may be obtained in person at the hearing or mailed to address on file.
Conditions & Exceptions

Background check must be passed before permit or license can be issued.

What You Need
  • Invoice (mailed 30 to 45 days prior to expiration date)
  • Criminal background check - conducted on the owner if a sole proprietorship or an authorized person if a corporation or a general partnership. The background check is conducted at an IdentoGo site.
  • Copy of the Certificate of Occupancy, if not already on file with Auto Dealers
  • Method of payment: business check, cashier's check, and money order. Cash and credit/debit cards are accepted in person only.
Renew in Person
  1. Call the Auto Dealers Detail at 832.394.4800 within 48 to 72 hours after completing the background check to ensure the criminal history has been obtained.
  2. If the background check passes, bring the invoice, Certificate of Occupancy (if needed), and payment to the Houston Permitting Center.
  3. Obtain a numbered ticket from the Information Desk and make your way to the basement.
  4. Scan your ticket at the reception desk to activate your place in line. Please wait in the lobby until your number is called.
  5. Pay the renewal fee at the Cashier's station located on the first floor.
  6. Bring the receipt to Auto Dealers station in the basement to receive the new license.

If the background check fails, contact Auto Dealers for next steps.

Renew by Mail
  1. Call the Auto Dealers Detail at 832.394.4800 within 48 to 72 hours after completing the background check to ensure the criminal history has been obtained.
  2. If the background check passes, mail the invoice, Certificate of Occupancy (if needed), and payment (checks payable to the City of Houston) to:
    Houston Police Department
    Auto Dealers Detail
    PO Box 3408
    Houston, TX 77253-3408
  3. The new license will be mailed to the address on file.

If the background check fails, contact Auto Dealers for next steps.

Conditions & Exceptions

Background check must be passed before permit or license can be issued.

If license is not renewed within 30 days after expiration, applicant will have to re-apply as new and pay initial fee cost.